Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Prime Minister Modi announces Ram Mandir Trust in Lok Sabha

Prime Minister Modi announces Ram Mandir Trust in Lok Sabha

By : Kaushik Subramanian

  |  5 Feb 2020 12:13 PM GMT

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on December 5, 2020 announced
in the Lok Sabha that the Cabinet has made a decision to form the trust named
Sri Ram Janma Bhumi Tirtha Kshetra in accordance with the judgement delivered
by Supreme Court on November 9, 2019. The trust is to function as an
independent body. He said that the trust
would have complete freedom in deciding the matters related to the construction
of Ram Mandir at the Ram Janma Bhumi.

“My government, in accordance with the Supreme Court verdict,
has come out with a scheme for the construction of a Ram temple at the birth
place of Ram and all other related matters. As per the Supreme Court order, an
independent trust named Sri Ram Janma Bhumi Tirtha Kshetra shall be formed.”
Prime Minister Modi said.

He also mentioned that 5 acres of land at a prominent place
in Ayodha shall be handed over to the Sunni Waqf Board and the Uttar Pradesh
Government has expressed its commitment for the same.

“Keeping in mind the interests of devotees who visit Ayodhya to have a darshan of Lord Ram another big decision has been taken. In accordance with the Ayodhya Act, 67.703 acres of land near the temple shall be allotted to the Ram Janma Bhumi Tirtha Kshetra.” he said.

He mentioned that after the Supreme Court’s verdict, people’s
belief in democratic institutions has been strengthened.

“Our tradition and values has always emphasised on the philosophy of Vasudhaiva Kutumbakam and Sarve Bhavantu Sukinaha and it shall remain the philosophy that will guide us in the future. In India, everyone is part of one big family be it Hindus, Muslims, Christian, Sikhs, Buddhists, Parsis or Jains”, Prime Minister Modi said.

Union Home Minister Amit Shah later tweeted that the trust
would comprise of 15 members including a Dalit representative.

K. Parasaran, who represented Ram Lalla in the historic case is slated to be the head of the trust.

Religious Heads part of the trust are Jagatguru Shanakaracharya Jyothish Peethadheswar Swami Vasudevanand of Prayagraj, Jagatguru Madhvacharya Swami Vishwa Prasannatheerth of Udupi, Yugpurush Parmanand of Haridwar and Swami Govinddev Giri of Pune.

Civilian members include Vimlendra Mohan Pratap Mishra - a descendant of the Ayodhya Royal Family, Dr. Anil Mishra, Mahant Dinendra Das of the Nirmohi Akhara. Kameshwar Chaupal belonging to Patna will be the Dalit representative in the trust. Shri Chaupal laid the foundation stone of Ram Temple back in 1989.

The trust will also have 6 nominated members - 2 prominent persons selected by the trust, an IAS officer of Joint Secretary Level nominated by the Centre, an IAS officer of from the state government. The District Magistrate of Ayodhya will be the ex-officio trustee, chairman for temple administration to be selected by the trust. All nominated members have to be practicing Hindus.

The trust has been registered at R-20, GK-1, Greater Kailash Colony in Delhi, which is the address of the Supreme Court lawyer K Parasaran.

Next Story